The endpoints described in this section are the replacements of the v1.1 endpoints that allow you to manage blocking relationships:

If you are currently using any of these endpoints, you can use our migration materials to start working with the new v2 versions.

Learn more about the new Twitter API v2: Early Access.

Introduction

Blocking users is a core feature of security on Twitter.  Using the endpoints in the manage blocks endpoint group, you can build safer experiences for Twitter users or block users programmatically based on previous engagements. You can also unblock users after a given period of time based on the criteria that you determine.
 

Manage blocks

The manage blocks endpoints enable you to block or unblock a specified user on behalf of an authenticated user. For this endpoint group, there are two methods available POST and DELETE. The POST method allows you to block a user, and the DELETE method will enable you to unblock.

Since you are making requests on behalf of a user, you must authenticate these endpoints with OAuth 1.0a User Context and use the Access Tokens associated with the user, which can be generated using the 3-legged OAuth flow. You can block a user from your account or an account of an authenticated user. With both endpoints, there is a user rate limit of 50 requests per 15 minutes per endpoint. 
 

Was this document helpful?
Thank you

Thank you for the feedback. We’re really glad we could help!

Thank you for the feedback. How could we improve this document?
Thank you for the feedback. Your comments will help us improve our documents in the future.